BMD Biography – George Sherwood (3/21/14)

You’ve all seen this guy parked in his spot at the bar on matchdays.  It’s George!  Let’s ave it.

george

Would you like to introduce yourself and tell us where you are from?

George Sherwood currently living in Frisco, but originally from the Midwest.  Spent almost 25 years flying in the Navy, so actually lived all over, but decided to settle in Texas after I retired.

Everyone has a personal reason why they choose to join up with an organization. Why did you choose to join BMD?

As my interest in Manchester City continued to grow, I was looking for a way to understand the Club better and hopefully be around like minded people.  I have found both in BMD.

What is your experience with Manchester City that made you fall in love with the club?

For me from the start, it felt like a small club in a big league.  Enjoyed watching them play and the more I learned about the Club, the more I knew that my decision was the right one.

If you had to pick just one player to call your favorite, who would it be and why?

For a current player it has to be Vincent Kompany.  To me he is Manchester City.   Although he is the Captain I also see him as the heart and soul of the team.  We just don’t play as well when he is out.  It has been an adventure for me to learn about the great city names of the past also.

 Best City goal?

For me it has to be the goal Yaya scored against Norwich on a free kick in the 7-0 win on 2 November 2013.  For me it is the best because I saw it in person from the first row down in the corner.

 

 

Have you seen City play in person?

Had the chance to see them demolish Norwich last November 7-0.  What a great experience. Can’t wait to go back May for another match and see them at least twice on the US Tour this summer.

Where were you when Aguero scored?

Sitting at my house watching on TV.  Looking forward to the match all week I was just thinking how lucky we are to have the last important match against QPR who were on the verge of being relegated.  I couldn’t believe it when we fell behind and the time kept ticking away.  Seeing Aguero score that goal as time was running out was pure joy!

As a member of BMD, how has your experience been so far?

It has been great, I really couldn’t ask for anything more.  I get to watch City every weekend and spend a few hours with a group of people that I enjoy so much to be around.  I can’t imagine any better supporters group.

george with sean vinesh

Blue Moon Dallas watches matches at The Londoner Frisco. What are your thoughts on the pub?

I think the pub is great.  I have enough experiences in bars to know that GM’s are going to come and go, but overall I am happy with the way we are treated and the majority of the stuff seems to go out of their way to make our group feel very welcome there.  At points the Londoner staff almost feels like an extension of BMD.

Last Question.  Most memorable game or moment with BMD?

Without a doubt it has to be the League Cup win this year.  It was an incredible special day from the large group we had watching to the celebrations after the win.  I felt so great that day to be a City Supporter and a member of BMD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

